Georgia State Senate

Older than the United States Congress, the Georgia General Assembly was established in 1777. The nine million citizens of Georgia are served by 56 State Senators. Several sub offices of the Senate were created to serve the State of Georgia and its citizens. Those offices include Senate Research, Senate Budget, Secretary of the Senate, and the Senate Press Office.

Mr. Casey Cagle serves Georgia as the Lieutenant Governor, the second highest elected official in the state. As Lt. Governor, Mr. Cagle also serves as President of the Senate, determining committee membership and presiding over every chamber debate. Excelling at football in high school, Mr. Cagle attended Gainesville College and later Georgia Sothern University.

Georgia State Senate Committees

A committee system is provided in the State Senate of Georgia to perform the fact-finding groundwork of bills and other crucial research needed to allow both the Senate and House of Representatives work more efficiently. The four Committees are Standing, Study, Conference, and Joint.

Contact the Georgia State Senate

Paul D. Coverdell Legislative Office Building, Suite 208

18 Capitol Square
Atlanta, Georgia 30334


(404) 463-1970     


Requests for information from Senators, the Lt. Governor, or Senate staff can be initiated by emailing


(404) 463-0346