Court of Appeals

In 1906 the Georgia State Legislature approved the amendment that allowed for the creation of the state's Court of Appeals. Comprised of twelve judges that serve in four divisions, the Georgia Court of Appeals has statewide appellate jurisdiction of all cases except ones that deal with land title disputes, will construction, habeas corpus, the constitution, divorce and alimony, elections, murder, and extraordinary remedies. It currently stands as the intermediate-level appellate court for Georgia and, despite its limited jurisdiction, is one of the busiest appellate courts in the nation.

Appointed in January 1st, 2009 by her fellow judges, M. Yvette Miller is the first African-American woman to serve as a Chief Judge for the Court of Appeals in Georgia. A native Georgian, Chief Judge Miller received her B.A. from Mercer University in 1977 and a J.D. degree from Mercer's Walter F. George School of Law in 1980. She later earned a LL.M degree in litigation from Emory University School of Law in 1988 and a LL.M. degree in Judicial Process from the University Of Virginia School Of Law in 2004.

State of Georgia Court of Appeals Docket System

In January of 2003, the Court of Appeals for the State of Georgia created a Docket/Case inquiry system which allows users to access case information after that date. The system is in real time and information can be accessed by simply entering the Court of Appeals docket/case number, trial court case number or a word from the case (Sanders v. State). The system is not case sensitive.

Also included on the site is citizen's guide to filing appeals with the court system of Georgia.

Contact the State of Georgia Court of Appeals

47 Trinity Avenue, Suite 501
Atlanta, Georgia 30334

Hours: 8:30AM to 4:30PM


(404) 656-3450